Spellbound

 

Between an artist and their instrument

I believe there is a bond, forged in an instant,

Tantamount to mystical action. Within, you reach out.

Withal, you pour in. You start playing – the sounds, the notes,

The feel, its grip – that link is stronger than you. You dive in and merge.

 

Emerge higher. It takes over. It holds

You, tighter than anything else ever before.

You are tied together yet you feel unbound, free.

You keep playing. Eyes closed. Aware. You can see clearly

Perceive. Around you the world has changed. Or maybe you have.

 

You have found another part of you.

Your senses. Heightened. You have grown.

You are one step closer to who you were meant to be.

This soulful entity belongs to your reality. Latched on to you.

It hosts your soul and you are its harbour. Haven and safe keeper.

 

One to the other. Reciprocally. Bound forever.

 

 


This text celebrates the magic of the bond between an artist and their instruments, be it for music making, picture taking, words assembling, painting, sculpting, drawing, designing, or even cooking, and so many more… I believe we all feel it at one point or another.

My first idea for a title to this piece was Ollivander’s. Then when I reread it in the morning Spellbound came to mind, and I felt like it was a great fit, as it would speak to those who are not Rowling’s fans as well.

The wand chooses the wizard. That much has always been clear to those of us who have studied wandlore… These connections are complex. An initial attraction, and then a mutual quest for experience, the wand learning from the wizard, the wizard from the wand.

—Garrick Ollivander explaining wands connections to wizards in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, by J.K. Rowling.

 


 

Why is it that a guitar that has been played sounds better than a guitar that has never been? Does it learn from you while you learn how to handle it? There is magic in music, shapes, words, tastes, colours. Art is a delightful mystery. We can’t pint-point the source of our inspiration, but we bask in the sunshine it brings into our lives.

 


 

If you want to listen to the writer interpreting her words – visit her Soundcloud channel – Hailie Andersen

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. zenlikefuck says:

    If music be the food of life, play on 🙂 I can sense that you play the guitar, how I wish I could!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly music, love and creativity are the best foods in life! It is never too late to learn, if you want to learn you should give it a go 😉 I love playing the guitar! I am not very good at it yet, but I am committed!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. zenlikefuck says:

    Yes I’m going to. I feel inspired. But first, I’ll save up for a guitar 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s wonderful news. I want to buy a nice guitar too. I have been playing and learning on my mum’s classical guitar so far but I feel ready to step up and invest in a folk 🙂 I have tried a couple and I am thinking of getting a Martin… They are pricy but their sound is just heavenly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

