Togetherness

Here comes my riddle,

So listen closely.

 

“My whole is a powerful link

that can’t be accessed in a blink.

 

It is not…

A secret. Well-kept. Guarded. Hidden.

 

Yet it is…

Preserved,

So precious, lovely and tender,

to some, it has come to sound unattainable.

 

It is …

Clear, open and sincere.

It does not play, neither hides nor seeks.

It is earned through trust and care.

 

It is a bond shared and ‘come so strong.

Since it is forged in the safest of places.

That is where two loving souls intersect.

 

It can’t be stolen, yet it can be captured

in moments shared by overlapping hearts.

 

Its importance and relevance seem to have been lost

misguided, misused, misplaced in time.

 

Each occurrence has its own resonance.

 It is up to you to make it out.

 

Now all that is left for me to divulge is its spell.

The priceless feel – object of my riddle – is the original meaning of intimacy.”


Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 04.06.34.png

Oxford Dictionary

 

 


“Intimacy”

Mirroring eroding attitudes

This treasure of a word has been corrupted.

It has been destroyed, cut down, downsized,

chipped to fit its current euphemistic use.

From profound and strong,

its lexical use has become mild and meaningless.


This post is part of a piece that was first published on Mug’s Tale. Here is the link to the full article.

18 Comments Add yours

    1. Thanks Chris 🙂 It is not what I usually write but I had fun creating it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, I am delighted you did. And thank you for having checked out so many of my texts!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You don’t have to thank me… Its just something about words that just do something to me. I’m weird right… Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No, you’re not. I feel the same. Words hold so much power in them. They have this ever creating essence to them. They are a home for magic tales and real stories. When assembled, they can tell truths or lie bluntly to reflect their author’s capacity. Words are fascinating.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes indeedy! And you have a way of making them come alive. And I’m sorry if I’m smothering you with complements.lol..

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That means so much to me! I am glad you feel that way. Please, don’t apologise for the attention you bring to my words. It is always lovely to receive appreciation and feedback.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I’m happy it does cuz you desirve it. And I was just showing respect when I apologized.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Respect acknowledged and reciprocated 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      8. You are so kool! Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Right back at you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      10. I’m not going to talk your ear off though so I guess I’ll talk to you later.

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Don’t worry about my ears 🙂 They are fine. You are welcome to share your reaction to my stories or to drop an e-mail whenever you want 🙂 Have a great day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Ok… I’ll stay in touch my friend… ✌

        Liked by 1 person

      13. Amazing, I am looking forward to that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

