Stronghold

If you feel like you are at the heart of a storm,

Ghastly place – there is no way out, no escape,

Nothing is left for you to hold on to,

Sadness is washing over you,

Hope has sailed away,

Hang on!

Don’t sink!

Reach out!

If not to others,

Look within yourself.

Go to a place where you will find strength.

Do something that will bring you comfort.

Watch something that will make you laugh.

Read something that will lift up your spirits.

Don’t despair.

Life can seem unfair,

But you too can take control,

And row your way back to the shore.

Even if the main mast backing up your sail

Has just been torn apart by the roughest winds

You have ever faced, you are stronger than you think

You are. You can and you will set foot, tread on land again.


Picture: Peggy’s Cove, Nova Scotia, Canada.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Emily says:

    Love this! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Em! ❤ It is lovely of you to stop by and read.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I hoped you would. You need to be cheered up, so I thought a post like this one could help. I am glad you do like it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do, a lot thank you so much. you are so kind

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this piece! 🙂 One of the best posts on cheering up I ever came across. You write so beautifully B. 🙂 Your post made me remember one of my favorite tracks ‘Iridescent’ from a band called ‘Linkin Park’. I would cite few lines from the track.
    * Do you feel cold and lost in desperation?
    You build up hope, but failure’s all you’ve known
    Remember all the sadness and frustration
    And let it go. Let it go *
    Thank you for this beautiful piece! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much T ❤ I am glad you like it! I think it holds an important message. We are way stronger than we think we are. All that hidden power resides in us, we just have to look for it and let it out.
      Definitely, I like Linkin Park, I used to listen to them all the time. That track is great. Letting it go is a great piece of advice. Thank you for stopping by! It is always nice to read you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read this at the most appropriate time. I’m in one of those phases where it seems everything negative is lined up and coming one after another. I know it’s just coincidence and the universe is not plotting against me. Your words have helped prove that!
    Thank you for them!
    Vinny

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Vinny! It is my pleasure.
      I am so glad I could help. There are always times like these when everything seems just wrong. I am sorry to hear you’re going through a rough patch. Look up to the little happy moments – those tiny daily miracles we tend to overlook – focus on them and engage in activities that make you feel good. You will see step by step you will restaure balance in your life. I wish you all the best!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

