Fleeting Connections

Whoever they were,

Whatever they believed,

Whatever they told her,

She knew

She could not get attached.

She knew,

Dragons’ and tigers’ hearts are curious ones.

They would not stop and wake up next to the same flower every day.

No matter how pretty and unique she may be,

They’d always rather get a timely change of scenery.

So after a while she wrapped up her heart

And put it away,

Afraid it could not sustain another parting

This way.

Time and again,

Forget-me-not learned

She was not that unforgettable after all.

That was the whole point of her name,

A warning and a prayer.

A tale.

A legend.

A prediction.

She would be remembered,

But she would never be there,

Whenever it would happen.


An excerpt from THE FLOWER, THE DRAGON AND THE TIGER, a poetic tale written by B. 

 

10 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you Andrew 🙂 I am glad you do! Thank you for stopping by, reading and sharing the love. It means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Excellent. So full of allure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you D. ❤ That is a gorgeous compliment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ZenLikeFuck says:

    The tigers and the dragons, fierce in their love but fickle. And the forget-me-not, so fragile and exposed, yet it has been brave enough to put its heart out there amongst the insensitive lot. Simply beautiful, B. And I love the connotations attached with the name in the end, very creative! A forget-me-not is a prayer, that being my favourite. You’ve outdone yourself with this one, B. Love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sparkle ❤ I am glad you like it. I wrote this one last year. It is 2-3 pages long. This is just an excerpt of an innocence / experience tale. Forget-me-nots are my favorite flowers ❤ Their French name is gorgeous too – Myosotis.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ZenLikeFuck says:

        It’s beyond beautiful, Bubble. The extract sounds so much like a fable but im afraid there are many forget-me-nots in the real world who are trying to mend their crushed hearts.

        I like them too, myosotis are the cutest things on the planet!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That is how I wrote my tale like a fable – a tale with a moral.
          Thank you for your kind appreciation of my words and I am so glad we share this liking for those pretty blue things ❤

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

