Summer Break Lullaby

Ends of school years are always very emotional for me.

 

Every year,

My students become a part of my life,

And I, a part of theirs.

 

As we all dive in the rush of our everyday teaching/learning routine,

I tend to lose sight of how much I mean to them –

And how much they mean to me.

 

That is when the end of year just pops up in my face,

And delivers its bittersweet message of care.

Parting is both a long awaited deliverance, and a heart tearing experience.

 

It holds the sweet taste of relief,

As we all really need our rest and look forward to summer break.

Still, it carries an aftertaste of sorrow,

As we turn a page on an episode of our life that will never be lived again.

 

Unique links have been forged.

We have shown each other our best and our worst.

We have been ourselves, and so much more,

Always looking to achieve something better,

Reaching out to fulfill our potential one step at a time.

 

The bond between a teacher and their students is beyond compare.

My little wolves – mes petits loups, as I call them –

Our students look up to us, and need presence, care and frame from us.

 

As teachers, we deliver knowledge and passion for our subjects.

We show them who we are,

But most of all, we show them

They are a part of something greater than themselves.

 

A community with people who care for them

If they show respect.

A society that has its own sets of rules.

They have to abide by it all, adapt, and find their own safe space to evolve.

 

Our students change so much in a very short timespan!

They grow into young adults, and discover that they matter.

They can have an impact on this world,

As we have an impact on them.

 

I still hear from my lovely students long after they are my students no more.

It is never the same though.

I become a fond memory and so do they.

A page is turned and on to the next cycle.

 

Bittersweet thanks and goodbyes,

Every year,

On and on,

Our impact is reciprocal.

 

Every year, you teach me as much as I teach you. If not more.

You matter little ones, always remember you matter.

 


Picture: Partial shot of a thank you poster two lovely students made for me.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. this post is so amazing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I love my job! I think it shows ^^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Summer! The days are already getting shorter and autumn will be here before you know it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you D.! Happy summer to you too! Autumn always comes too soon too… Don’t get me wrong, I love teaching to my students, but breaks are much needed to rest from all the energy I have to deploy around them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

