Broken Reflection

She entered the guest bedroom. She locked the door. Conducted another full check of the room. She removed her towel, hanged it on the door handle. She looked at her naked body in the wardrobe mirror.

She could recognize the familiar shape of her outline, but nothing else looked like hers. She had lost her charm. Her confidence. Her smile.

The reflection in the mirror was that of a wounded creature.

Beaten up.

That woman looked nothing like her.

Yet it was her.

She had been doubting the reality of the events of the day. Yet the bruises on her cheek, hip and arm were all proof that it did happen. She checked herself in the mirror. Letting it all sink in.


An excerpt from A Lion’s Roar, by Hailie Andersen – first published on Mug’s Tale.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, powerful as always, you always hit my spirit

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad I do 🙂 Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting. It is an excerpt from the saddest short story I have ever written. It explores a topic that is close to my heart, the danger of violence. It aims at raising awareness on domestic violence. If you click on the link below the text, on the words “A Lion’s Roar”, you can access the whole text.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok. Thanks for sharing. I too am a survivor of DV. It’s an ugly topic but so many are afraid to leave. There needs to be awareness so folks know starting over, even if tough, is necessary to build self worth. In addition, raising kids in that environment only creates a cycle of abuse since that is what the children deem as acceptable. I couldn’t do that to my daughter. She deserves better and so do I.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am sorry to hear of what you had to endure. You did the right thing in leaving this harmful environment. Both you and you daughter deserve attention, love and care ❤ You are setting a powerful example for her.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I agree. Thank you. Hugs. 🌷

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you and many hugs to you too ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Veena says:

    I seem to connect with your work.It touches the very fiber of my being

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am delighted that you connect with my work. ❤ It means a lot to me. Thank you so very much for reading and taking the time to share your view. It is very much appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

