Assaulted

I opened my eyes and still could not see anything. There was no blood on my back. My clothes were intact. I was still on the same road. Walking ahead. Robotic, automated steps. My body seemed unharmed. As if nothing had happened. Yet I could feel the pain of the bite and the rough claws grasping at my flesh. Again and again, stabbing at my back, echoing the aggression I had just undergone. I could not be imagining such vivid pain. I had never felt anything like that before.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. moonskittles says:

    This is so vivid, it made my breath and heartbeats fasten.. wow!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you Dajena πŸ™‚ ❀ I am glad it grasped your attention! It was the intended effect. Your comment makes me very happy!

    Like

  3. Frightening and so well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you D. ❀ I am so happy you think so ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The picture tbat you left me with is so vivid

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you M. That’s fantastic!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Diana says:

    I had to do some deep breathing exercises after reading this. Feels like a nightmare? The portrayal has me searching for scratch marks and looking over my shoulder for the terrifying assailant. Feeling as uneasy as the author when you were typing it no doubt!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My imagination knows little to no bounds. Contemplation of reality, fantasy, horror or any type of fiction. Prose or verse, I try to make my words transcribe what I see and what it feels, whether it be real or dreamed. Yeah, this piece felt a bit nightmarish. Just a bit. I’ve been through worse. Thanks for appreciating it and sorry for the scare. ^^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Diana says:

        Don’t be sorry! To be scared, to be sad, to feel pain or the sting of rejection …. all integral components of the human condition. I have never lived in half measures πŸ˜€ and being jolted like this reminds me I’m truly alive!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I love your stand πŸ™‚ I feel the same πŸ™‚ though I prefer to experience it in the safety net of fiction than in real life, especially the pain or frightful elements..

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Diana says:

            Oh yes of course, my fragile heart would not be able to cope. I actually can barely watch horror or violent films. And NEVER on my own!

            Liked by 1 person

          2. It is the same for me, horror needs company to help me break the spell once it is over and during the movie, if it gets to intense. I don’t do gore movies. If there is violence or disgusting scenes that don’t bring anything to the plot of the story then I just won’t watch it. There are things you can never unsee

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Diana says:

            Exactly. I often wonder what service the portrayal of gratuitous violence brings to the human psyche. I can find nothing.
            Serious moment here … hope you are having a nice eve 😊

            Liked by 1 person

          4. So do I and neither can I. Though it has been present in most civilisations (Gladiators, arena games and public executions come to mind)
            I was writing to you. I just sent the letter πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

