Prey

“I could sense a presence hovering over me. Something brushed against my bare skin. Rough scales, cold as ice. Leaving a burning itching rash in their wake. I felt threatened. A wild animal too slow to run, limited by the set pace of my body, and trapped in a shell. Slow as a turtle, yet defenseless. I could not even find shelter and hide under my carapace. I was exposed. Far away from any known territory, lost in a land I did not recognize. Trapped in a mass of walking flesh that was not even mine. I felt waves of panic rising in me. I closed my eyes. Tightly. Hoping I would wake.”

An excerpt from Road to Hell, a short story by Hailie Andersen, soon to be published on Mug’s Tale.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. So amazing and the pic is super

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I am glad you like it 🙂 I will post the whole short story on my other blog – Mug’s Tale tomorrow 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

