Tough Choice

I wish I could make things better.

I love you, and I love her.

I chose me and I chose her, instead of you,

And Caleb was born.

 

I wish you could be his godfather,

He is a great kid.

He loves the ball.

Remember how we used to play?

 

For hours at a time –

Tirelessly throwing and catching.

I haven’t lifted a ball,

Since I played with you last.

 

Click here to read the beginning and the end of this story. 


This is an except of a poetic short story entitled Instead of You and posted on Mug’s Tale as part of the 18th Weekly Writing Workshop exploring the theme “Forgive Me!”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. moonskittles says:

    I really liked the intriguing atmosphere this poem brought in my mind. YOu surely do know how to attract the reader’s attention and urge them to read more.
    Dajena 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Dajena ❤ I am glad you think so 🙂 I love writing short stories. I have to try and apply myself to write a longer one now ^^ and hope I can maintain that attention all the way through…

      Like

Leave a Reply

