On Her Own

Part 1 – Him

She is sitting by herself, looking up

A book in her hands, basking in the sunlight,

Watching the lake ripples crash on the shore. All alone.

 

I am watching her.

 

She is shifting. Lying down on her stomach, and reading.

She doesn’t look lonely nor sad. She is smiling –

Bright. Shining a true smile of content.

 

The expression on her face –

Voluptuous, warm and welcoming –

Draws me in. I contemplate joining her.

 

I feel like being with her. Chatting.

Maybe I should pull her out of her solitude.

A smile like hers should not be wasted on the air.

 

I picture myself walking up to her, ripe and ready

To share a funny line. I expect a connection.

She will laugh at my jokes – heartily.

 

She will be pleased I am showing such kind interest.

I wilfully forget. She is a complete stranger.

I don’t know the first thing about her.

 


Part 2 – Her

How lovely it feels to be here

The sun. The lake. The air

So gracious. So fresh.

 

The calm. The peace!

 

How I needed it!

This moment, all alone

Doing nothing at all. No cooking.

 

No cleaning. No arguing.

A sweet bubble bath of solitude

This is priceless. I should treasure it.

 

I should think of nothing.

I only have an hour. They asked

To save a spot. They will join me soon –

 

We will dine together. It will be such great fun!

I can’t help it. Even more so when they’re not around,

I think of them and smile. Truth is – I can’t wait to see them.

 


 

IMG_7234
“A Lone Stranger” Picture captured by me, on Sunday, June 11th, Plage des Pins, Thonon-Les-Bains, France – iPhone 5C – HDR / wide shot / right pan / black and white treatment.

IMG_2124
Featured image: “A Delightful Bath of Sun and Words” this is a picture of me, captured in Thonon-Les-Bains, on April 13th, 2015, by my lovely friend a Feather on the Lookout. I am not sure what the references of her awesome camera are. If you are interested, feel free to visit her blog and drop her a line. 🙂

 


Post answering the theme “Solitude” – Day 6 of the Developing Eye 10-day Photo Challenge.

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful piece. And finally I get to see the beauty face behind the words. You are truly lije I imagine. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind comment and compliment M. 🙂 I am glad I don’t disappoint 🙂 I believe there were two other pictures of me scattered thoughout my posts. Not many – I grant you ^^ Check out “Right Through Me” and “Soul’s Delicacies” 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am going to check them now

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice job on the two very different perspectives. One as the observer, the other as the inner monologue thinking of the grand feeling of being alone yet wanting company, later. Nicely worked ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Fionn 🙂 I love creating texts with two different standpoints that complete each other. I believe it can shine a mind opening light on the scene. I am delighted you found this text to your liking 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you did a good job here! Keep it up

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much Austin. I am delighted you liked my lines 🙂 I will do my best not to disappoint.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh please, you’re already doing just fine

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful! You look so serene and it looks like it’s you and the sun and nothing else in the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you my lovely friend ❤ Your sweet words never fail to make me happy 🙂

      Like

  5. This one is a beauty B! Pictures are undoubtedly great! You have so beautifully and flawlessly compiled the two different perspectives. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey my dear friend!
      Thank you for your kind words and support. I am delighted you enjoyed reading this one as much as I enjoyed writing it. It was a fun exercise!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

