I Wanted To Be Therefore I Am

This is a poem – a letter to myself – I wrote about ten years ago. Reading it back today made me smile. I have become the woman I wanted to be then. Twenty-year old me would be proud. This ten-year-older, future version of herself is just like she had envisioned. I listened to my own advice and turned out alright.

My friends, please do forgive the clumsy turns of phrases. I only checked the grammar/spelling. I did not want to deprive this text from its feel of authenticity.

 

Unexpected Confidence

– Over Time –

 

From a child to a teen,

You grew up, and then became an adult.

A chapter, the basis for your life,

Spent in a place you now call home.

A chapter, full of many great souvenirs,

But also of some you would rather leave behind.

Then one day, you realize that, whatever happens next,

Happy or not, they will never part from you.

 

They will remain part of you;

Though with life, time and experience,

You’ll see that their weight will fluctuate.

Sure, most will remain priceless to you.

Some, however, will become secondary.

It is likely that unhappy memories will come to rest.

They will even be barely relevant compared to what is next.

 

With dreams, desire, truth,

Life, time, lived experiences,

You’ll get to find the real you,

Build it!

Learn it!

Respect it!

 

Believe and trust in your own accomplishments,

You will get to know, show and share who you really are.

 

Never lie,

Never force yourself,

Never let anyone force you,

You always have the choice!

Never believe anyone who would say the contrary.

 

Keep control,

And relinquish it sometimes,

But only when you are with people you trust – and only if you want it.

 

Then, finally, you will be in control. You will get to be you – the “who” you want to be.

Your personality will live up to your dreams and you will have confidence.

Wait and see. Trust me. You will just love the feeling!

 

“When truth and desire meet, dreams are born”

So make it happen.

 


Featured image captured in Toulouse, France on May 30th, 2014 – iPhone 5c – HDR – Black and white. Cropped landscape shot.


 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Did you really write that a decade ago?
    Either way, wise words especially about the good memories and the bad. Time forms a personality and it seems you knew what to expect at a fairly young age. Nice piece to reflect on.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I was as surprised as you rediscovering it today in my files. I wrote it on October 1st, 2007, so about 9 years ago to be more accurate. It seems I was a wise young little one, doesn’t it? I am proud of younger me. Though it seems unfair. She did all the work and I am getting all the credit. ^^ Thank you for reading, mister Lion. Don’t you wonder what that 10 year younger version of you would have told you, if he had taken the time to reflect?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes lol. And I doubt it would have been good, because although I was wise beyond my years I was also not much of a realist.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Good is relative. We need dreamers and their vision to make our world a nicer place 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. This is probably my favorite

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha 🙂 Thanks, M. I like it too. Young thoughts are very precious. I am glad I wrote them down.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am glad you shared them with us. Love you

        Liked by 1 person

      2. and I am glad you read them. Much love to you too ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. auburnrhyme says:

    This was a heart warming message/reflection

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you 🙂 I am delighted my words felt that way to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ninefifteen says:

    It sounds like a prophecy, young and fresh, wise and true to the you I know. It shows you are driven by hope, openness and a somewhat realistic dream. It’s a nine year old poem but the roots of your writing are already visible 🙂 it sounds like you. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for appreciating 🙂 I was moved when I stumbled up on it. I had to share it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ninefifteen says:

        I can understand how moved you were. Finding old texts always triggers an emotional response…this is a great one 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ninefifteen says:

        You’re welcome 😄

        Liked by 1 person

  5. ZenLikeFuck says:

    My god, 20 year old you really had her ducks in a row. I am stumped at the clarity of your thinking, the profound understanding of things and feeling that actually matter in life. I’m glad I met you and as a friend I can confirm that you are all those things and much more. Lovely thoughts Bubble, you’re a breath of fresh air! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you my Sparkle! Your comment warms my heart as always. 💕💚💕💚 It was just after my year abroad in England. I was at the height of my capacity of reflection ^^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ZenLikeFuck says:

        Well in that case your capacity knows no bounds. Infinity and beyond, pretty B! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are too sweet my Tanya 💕

        Like

  6. Ryan Stone says:

    Love it! So beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ryan 🙂 I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

