Bleeding Out

This pain is debilitating,

Each month recurring,

Programmed like clockwork,

Neat and lasting

Just as long as it should.

 

Dark powerful, undermining

Gashes I can’t escape.

I am stuck here,

Lying on my back,

Short of breath,

Hot, and trembling,

 

Prisoner of this body,

I have been stuck with since birth.

 

My fingers are shaking

Yet fighting the urge

Of abandoning their post

Contemplating the relief of

Resting on my stomach

Restraining the ache

In their embrace

 

– Or of punching their grief out on it,

Possibly making it worse.

 

Resisting my thoughts,

Soldiering up,

My fingers are typing,

Spreading the truth of this curse

That my body, our society,

And those drugs

Have been plotting

To hide in shame.

 

This month it fell on days

I was not working,

So I made a conscious choice

Not to stain my blood

With those chemicals.

 

As a result of this bravery

I feel like screaming.


 

This is an excerpt from a text I published on Mug’s Tale as part of the featured challenge exploring the theme “body”.

Here is a link to the whole text.

I lived through it and wrote it today (19/07/2016). It explores some of the wonders of living in a woman’s body.


 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Powerful like always

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, M. Believe me the pain is powerful too, especially when left unchecked.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes. I completely agree

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ZenLikeFuck says:

    The agony in your words is hard to miss. Broken, torn and wilting we still live on. Strong words B, very different from what you write but equally beautiful. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my Tanya ❤ It is true I write more about happiness than I do about pain. I guess it is all about that strong survival instinct, and perhaps that happy mood that I can't get away from. A big hug my dearest friend. Thank you for your kind words. They mean so much to me, always.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Vinnie Dime says:

    Stop torturing poppies ! :p More seriously, the image totally fits this (beautiful) text !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Torturing? Haha I am not sure where you get that idea. I was merely trying to capture their beauty.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Haha wrong post in mind. Indeed staging that shot did imply some torturing on my part…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Intense and vehement …..and u pick in such beautiful words…..keep them coming 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Saaransh! I am delighted my words managed to capture your attention. Of course, I will keep them coming 🙂 Thank you again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

