Airy Nuptials

I am stepping out the house,

Hurrying down the flight of stairs,

Fully equipped

– I breathe in, and out – eager to flee

The loud realm of my own soul.

 

With each step, our world

Feels like it is morphing, shifting

Around me

It seems wild and foreign at first.

Then it draws me in – Aria –

 

Its melody has not changed

At all. The metamorphosis occurred

Within me

Being close to nature bewilders me,

Tames me to its raw image.

 

Strong, receptive, reactive,

I run and I listen, I watch and I feel,

I fit in, I am

Ready to hear, smell, see, and touch

I observe. I am connected.

 

I run my course, I belong

To this orchestra of sounds, scents

Emerging

Around me. The stream flowing by

My side soothes my heart

 

Lulling its broken rhythm

To my receptive ear. I feel cleansed,

Rebirthed.

The wind is asking me to be its bride,

Brushing on my bare skin

 

To signal its uncommon

Proposal. Out of breath, I whisper,

Absolutely,

I hasten my steps and rush back

Home to share the news.

 

Of this upcoming union,

My family approves. The next day,

Excitedly,

Helios and I are wed for all town

To see and I disappear

 

During the ceremony.

As I say “yes”, I feel weightless and airy,

Embraced,

Loved, floating in ecstasy. Looking down

I see my loved ones,

 

Dumbfounded faces,

Tears flowing down my mother’s cheeks

Endlessly

Shattered. I fly by. I gently brush her skin

Trying to appease her,

 

To soothe her worried heart,

But she shivers and recoils from my touch,

Scarred

Reminded of my husbands’ volatile nature

And his unforgivable trickery.

 


 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. I love your posts. You always blow my mind. Always

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you ❤ I am glad my words hold such power in them ^^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Veena says:

    What a wonderful post! It rouses all the senses.One can experience the heady effect of nature.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my dear friend,
      I am so happy you enjoyed it. Nature always inspires me, I am glad I could convey my feelings your way ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ninefifteen says:

    You express a not so common idea – what it feels like when your senses are caught by nature – in a very original way. And you make it take a highly unexpected path, especially at the end…and “being the bride of the wind”: THAT is poetry !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Such high praise coming my way! ❤ Thank you, N. ❤ I am glad I managed to surprise you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ninefifteen says:

        A high praise you truly deserve 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Surprising and beautiful text! You are so gifted to make up and give life to your stories. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw ❤ *smiling* Thank you so much my lovely friend. Your appreciation means the world to me ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ZenLikeFuck says:

    What a magnificent communion! Nature makes a heady cocktail and you are drunk in love. Mesmerizing lines, nature and you are my all time favorite couple. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have nailed the spirit ❤ Thank you my Tanya ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely, mythic, and powerful words. Fantastic writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *smiling* Thank you, Diana ❤ I am so glad you liked this one. I think it is one of my favorite productions too. Thank you for leaving me such encouraging feedback. It means the world to me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure. Wonderful writing 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you again for stopping by and leaving your awesome feedback ❤ Have a wonderful day, Diana!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

