Peaceful Departure

Resting in foliage shadows, I am contemplating the day I have had and what I could do of my remaining hours. I went hiking with my brother – we climbed up to lake Critol. I called my sister and my best friend. I had a great laugh with both of them.

Today is the last day of my life. I was programmed to be decommissioned now on the day I was born. We all are to some extend – Humans or Machines. Though I doubt it would feel the same not to know when your lease on life expires.

In the end, I opted to just lie down there, in the grass, enjoying the piercing rays of sun warming up my stainless steel cells. I figured that was the best way to go. Lying there basking in delight, without a care in the world.


This is a except of a longer short story I will publish soon on Mug’s Tale. I will share it along with another passage in tomorrows’s post.


Featured image captured on the 28th of July, 2016, with a DMC-GM5, Lumix G camera. It shows the gorgeous sight of lake Cristol, in the Clarée Valley, close to the village of Nevache, in the South East of France.


 

26 Comments Add yours

  1. I love it. Can’t wait for tomorrow

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, M. 🙂 I love writing about Robots. This one is brand new. I came up with it this morning.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And I love reading everything you write

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That makes me very happy, thank you 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. My pleasure beautiful soul

            Liked by 1 person

          2. did i made you red?

            Liked by 1 person

          3. You made me smile.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Yay, Mission accomplish (Robot voice)

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Ninefifteen says:

    Looking forward to reading more !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, N. 🙂 You will, I promise 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Veena says:

    That’s great you whet the appetite and makes us wait . Well it has to be tomorrow. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha 🙂 how cruel of me! Thank you for reading my paragraphs. More will come tomorrow 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Veena says:

        Yup! Waiting eagerly.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Izrael says:

    First of all, thank you for following my blog. Hope that you will like some of the posts I have written.

    This few paragraphs that you posted here looks promising! I wanted to know what happen next. Hope to read more about it. Much love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is my pleasure, Izrael! I enjoy reading your posts. They are filled with authentic emotions. Thank you for your visit and kind comments. I appreciate it.
      Thank you for your enthusiasm regarding this post 🙂 I promise more will come soon. Much love to you too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ayatesthewriter says:

    Oh, I loved the twist. The way it started out, I believed it was going to be something completely different!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ava, for reading and for this awesome feedback. I am glad I managed to surprise you 🙂

      Like

  6. Never used to like reading about robots, that was before you. Thank you my sweetie. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you my lovely, lovely friend! That is amazing ❤ Haha zombies, robots, I will make you enjoy reading just about everything ^^ Challenge accepted!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. The picture makes this doubly effective, I wasnt expecting a machine.
    You threw me off the scent with the bit about calling the friend and sister, and then there is a further hint of the machine being entirely human, choosing an ideal place to die. Cool short.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and giving me your valued feedback on this one – this paragraph is just an appetiser 🙂
      I am glad I managed to surprise you.

      I imagine that in a society of robots – modelled after and programmed by humans in the first place – machines could feel that bond with other machines – being created on the same day, working and evolving together for years.
      Yes, my robot has a beautiful soul – I could not create it any other way ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Although some time in the future, I dont doubt robots and humans will coexist. In a way we do already, the computers just cant walk.
        Cheers for the breakdown.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It was my pleasure, thank you for your interest 🙂 Have a fantastic evening, Fionn!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

