The Last Straw

 

If only you had not uttered that one sentence,

She would not be crying, hurting where it matters the most

 

Heart struck you bite your lip hoping

Your gripping teeth could tear

That senseless mouth of yours,

And retreat silently to your room.

 

No words can repair her heart now.

Time, more time, and love, and caring deeds only

Can turn back the clock, and help her move past

How much you just pained her.

 

β€œMy bright candle I apologize for snuffing out your light.

What I said I surely meant, but I did not foresee the hurt

And for that I wish I had turned my tongue

A thousand times before I moved to speak.”

12 Comments Add yours

  1. The potential pain of words is well evoked.
    A word said can never be unheard, yet so easily uttered. Funny in a sad way, how powerful speech can be when used without thought of how the other will perceive it, and of course it can be deliberate too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by and leaving me your feedback, Fionn πŸ™‚ thank you for reacting too. I agree with you on the power of speech. Sometimes, I so wish I had not spoken. It is a terrible feel, to know you are responsible for someone’s pain, even more so when you spoke accidently and not on purpose

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, it means a lot that you like my words πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I always do. You are amazing. Remember to smile cause you matter

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I will remember πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Izrael says:

    That is the sole reason why we should think before we speak. What we said when we are angry is usually what impacted others the most. While we said it due to our emotions, the intentions are clear of hurting the other party. How could we ever be forgiven when we had hurt them. It is up to them to decide on what type of punishment is suited for how hurtful it was. Thanks for the great post and much love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your insight, Izrael πŸ™‚ Indeed we have to think before we speak, but sometimes our words are just too swift for us to keep them in check.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Much love to you too ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Iman. It is so sweet of you to read and share your view! I am delighted you loved it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Iman Refaat says:

        Your words are so touching πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

