Mauvaises Terres*

Fossiliferous black marls – your name sounds

Born of witchcraft and mystery. Cursed.

Unearthed. Weakened. Spell bound

Never to rest, nor thrive again.

Arid land on which nothing grows

Slippery soil ever evolving,

Evading trees’ grasp.

Carbon crackling and crumbling down.

Layer upon layer

Of pressed organic matter

Sedimented under ancient seas

For millennia – untouched by oxygen.

Now uncovered. In your dense, massive frailty

Eroded. Rendered vulnerable by frost’s crispy touch,

Your skin bursts and shatters, leaving faults through which

Waters can reach in, and glide on. Navigate, infiltrate your structure

Assaulting your mass

Compromising your integrity

Further scarring your decaying matter,

Your hardened, sterile body of waterproof clay.

I remember how I loved to plant my feet

On your moving grounds, to speed up, jump on, and

Run along – slide against your elephant shaped butt cheeks.

Now. From a distance, let me behold your daunting, deserted scenery.


*Mauvaises terres is the French for “bad lands”.


Featured image captured by my iPhone 5C, HDR settings on August 9th, 2016, on the Col de la Bachassette, near Oze, France.

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Cool piece. Was the symmetry intentional?

    Like

    1. Thank you, Fionn! I am glad you liked it. The approximative symmetry came naturally with the flow, then I shipshaped it so it would reach its final look ^^.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing piece and thebpic is just phenomenal

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, M! I am glad you liked them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The pleasure is always mine

        Liked by 1 person

      2. And I am always happy to hear it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a beautiful piece. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *smiling* Thank you 🙂 I am glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! And thank you very much for following – I greatly appreciate it=)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you for finding me. Your blog looks really nice 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

