The Pier

Clumsily climbing my way through the rocks, I stumble upon a patch of soft green moss that tickles my toes. Reaching the far end of the pier, I stop and take a deep breath. I wish I had more time to linger here, sit and absorb the sounds of the lake, its scent, the feel of water crashing on the rocks and droplets landing on my skin, their lively rhythm connecting me back to their earthly core.

A lone sail catches my eye, pointing out to the rest of its tribe. In an instant, I look around and see a whole colony of them popping out. All around sails billow in the breeze. Life pauses to relax in the summer sun. An overwhelming feeling of peace is ravishing me, powerful, swift, and soft. I feel bliss.

A thoughtless world of emotions is taking me under siege. I can’t move. I let my eyes take over, plunge and swim in and out to the shore.

Out of reach, the city sits still. A hive of concrete buildings, people moves suspended in time. Frozen. A hub of life rendered silent by the distance. Aimless crowd, standing still, trapped under a sleeping spell, dormant, cursed into oblivion.

I open my eyes and let my mind take control again. Refuelled, animated, alive, hopping from rock to rock, I walk back to the shore.


Coauthored with Peter McGlynn (whose words are typed in bold).

Creative writing springing from the words “rocks, green, sit, sails, peace, hub” and following a contemplative line.


Featured image captured on the 20th of July 2014 in Thonon-Les-Bains, France, with an iPhone 5C, HDR settings.

Leave a Reply

