Unexpected Sight

There is so much I see,

So much care,

So much beauty,

So much potential,

That it diverts my gaze.

Once I notice it,

It starts to pop up,

And spread  

All around me.


 

Life did not hand me the cards

That are commonly expected

There are many things

That most people have

That I did not get,

And never will,

 

And yet,

I rejoice.

 

I rejoice,

Because it brought me strength

Strength to realize

Strength to understand

Strength to cherish

Strength to hope

Strength to hang on

And exist in the unexpected

Be there in places

People rarely visit

 

I rejoice

Because I see the world differently.

I see pain.

I face it, and do my best to appease it.

I look it in the eyes,

Yet I don’t get fixated on it.

 

I can’t. I won’t.

 

There is so much else I see,

So much care,

So much beauty,

So much potential,

That it diverts my gaze.

 

Once I notice it,

It starts to pop up,

And spread

All around me.

 

I feel my experiences shaped me

Through darkness to light.

I feel they turned me

Into an anchor of sorts.

 

Curious people swim by,

And get attached.

Stay there for a while,

And part ways.

 

Then there are the others.

The people I cherish,

Those who keep coming,

And those who stay,

 

Those who will be there

For as long as we live,

And make our days.

 

There are many things

I will never experience,

But so many that I have,

And many more that I will.

 

Within all this static uncertainty

There is the fiercest of all,

The most stable variable,

The fuel that keeps me going,

Days in and days out,

Because I keep building it.

I embrace it.

I cherish it.

 

Love.

 

Love is at the heart of it all.

Invaluable yet so easily accessible.

You just have to will your heart to open

To feel it.

 

Renew the gesture,

Make it a daily pleasure,

To live it,

Live it again,

And again.

 


Featured image: A gorgeous stream in the Clarée Valley, near Névache, France. It was captured with a Lumix G Vario – DMC GM5, on the 28th of July, 2016.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ivors20 says:

    Dear Soul-writer, I loved this beautiful poem of love and your love of nature. You’ve a purity for love, that I was so fortunate to have witnessed once myself. Touched me deeply.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ivor, your words of appreciation move me too. Love and nature are everything to me. I am happy to share and spread the feelings they bring to me through my words, in hopes that my readers will experience it too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

