Lush Light

I delight in watching the sun rays lose their aggressiveness, and grow soft filtered through the persienne shutters and the lace curtains,Β casting delicate shadows on the tiled floors.

There I am relaxing in my grand mother’s kitchen, which is the gathering place for the whole family. We always stay in this room together. We sit around the table and have the most trivial, the most important – and sometimes the most explosive – chats there. It is also my favorite place to have a read in the afternoon, while the whole house is asleep. This is no myth. The WHOLE HOUSE goes to bed around 1:30 PM – after having ingested a very, very, VERY rich lunch – then it all goes quiet. You can hear the clock ticking for an hour or two, and feel time slip by, as its mechanics count the seconds until the human dwellers all softly come back to life.

I don’t join in the fun, because when I do, I just don’t sleep at night. On many accounts, I would not qualify as your typical French woman anyway. The first time I drank wine was when I was an exchange student in England. I had never even been tempted by that dubious, dark red liquid before. Same thing for cheese. I realised how good it was in France only when I left my home country, tried some cheap student cheddar in the UK, and disliked it so very much, it gave me a whole new appreciation for what I had back home.

That said – I cherish my lone afternoon moments. It gives me a nice break from all the family excitement. A chance to clear my head and read in the comfort of this cocoon. Traditional houses here have such thick stone walls that they keep the heat at bay. Thus the air remains nice and fresh inside – provided you don’t leave the doors wide open during lunch time. I sit there in the quiet. My back against the wall, feet extended on to another chair, my eyes riveted to the stories and imaginary worlds I wander in, with the occasional look up to the opening to the world through the glass doors in front of me.

What I treasure the most about the afternoon in my Mamie’s kitchen is the lush summer light that fills up the room. I delight in watching the sun rays lose their aggressiveness, and grow soft filtered through the persienne shutters and the lace curtains, casting delicate shadows on the tiled floors. The susurrating whispers of the ever-blowing winds through the foliage and the flickering color of the leaves, from dark to light, translucent green, always add the most delicious, almost theatrical touch to this perennial place.


Featured image: Close up on the window. (iPhone 5S, HDR, no filter)

Below: A view of the lush summer light filtering through the curtains, shutters and windows in my grandma’s house, captured with an iPhone 5S, HDR Settings, chrome filter on August 1st, 2017, in Oze, France.

FullSizeRender-7

42 Comments Add yours

  1. My god!!! You always take the best photos and they go perfect with the words, nicely written by the way

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, M πŸ™‚ I just take pictures on the spot when inspiration strikes, that is probably why they fit well with the words. Always appreciate your feedback ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is always my pleasure and delight, always

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ivors20 says:

    So enjoyed the visual picture your words painted of your comfortable reading afternoon, and the photos were a beautiful compliment, to an already lovely read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ivor πŸ™‚ Your kind words always warm my heart.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Diana says:

    I found this entry by chance – how timely! A pleasure to read and I am transporter. Can absolutely picture myself seated at the table, transfixed by the dancing leaf shadows. Pour me a little wine and tell me a story now …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you D ❀ so glad you liked it. It was a beautiful moment. Wine and stories! That is wonderful combination πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Diana says:

        Can there be anything better? 😌 Sending a hug for the day ❀️

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Better no, but just as good there are so many little pleasures. I am thinking.. Swimming in the ocean at dawn, while there is none else around… or receiving a sweet word, a smile and a hug from a friend ❀ That is very nice too πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Diana says:

            ”Tis true! 😊 Did you forget the moonlit walk on an abandoned beach, with the phosphorescent sea creatures glimmering and the pungent smell of kelp all around? Magic in nature and friendship ❀️ paints such beautiful colour in our lives.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. It does ❀ I have never seen phosphorescent sea creatures. That sounds incredible.

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Diana says:

            Tonight then, imagine as you drift off to sleep! In warm oceans.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. I would love that. I would also LOVE to see it for real.

            Liked by 1 person

          5. Diana says:

            I have a feeling you shall now that you know about it. Choose a moonless night to best see them darting around your ankles 😌

            Liked by 1 person

          6. I sure hope so! Can you see them in any ocean?

            Liked by 1 person

          7. Diana says:

            Usually sub tropical – I spied them off the coast of Queensland. Shimmering. Some jellyfish and apparently coral too. So cool. It’s called bioluminescence. Promise me you will go see 😌

            Liked by 1 person

          8. Subtropical waters, I will travel there and see them then. I have to see them, the prospect of witnessing such natural wonders is so enchanting!

            Liked by 1 person

          9. Diana says:

            And as I’m describing this I’m thinking I’ve been waiting too long to see them again. Very distracting, such thoughts on a work day. But divine 😌

            Liked by 1 person

          10. Can you see them in Vancouver?

            Like

          11. Diana says:

            No, though our waters are rather deep and dark – if the little critters are here they are safely obscured from curious folk. Maybe I shall go investigate one moonless eve!

            Liked by 1 person

          12. Please do and let me know πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

          13. It is an easy promise to be made πŸ˜‰

            Liked by 1 person

          14. Diana says:

            Much easier than some others in life 😊

            Liked by 1 person

          15. Very true indeed πŸ™‚

            Like

          16. Good morning by the way πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

          17. Diana says:

            Why thank you! The sun has risen I my world. Always a joy to be welcomed to the day with such bright. And good afternoon to you!

            Liked by 1 person

          18. Light brightens our lives for sure. Thank you πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Diana says:

    You know that someday, we may have to delete these long threads. Making way for admirers of of prose. In the meantime, high five haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why? They would get an insight on the minds of the poets at work here. A bit like reality TV – in blogging

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Diana says:

        Oh my god! You are so right! I never thought of that. Someday these words may be the fodder of psychology classes 😊 Very profound, you!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yep πŸ™‚ they might just do that πŸ™‚

          Like

  5. Diana says:

    Ok! So my new mission shall be to make this thread trail into infinity. Testing our wit and … the storage servers of WordPress. I think the computers will crash before you and I run out of things to say!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha ^^ please don’t make them
      Crash ^^ haha I hope they can’t. I have put way too much of my time and work on this blog for it to dare crash. πŸ˜…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Diana says:

        I shall make sure your literary (and musical) works remain undisturbed, and only lightly dusted with the passing of time! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha ^^ you make dust sound so poetic πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Diana says:

            Lots of smiles today with your comments. I can feel a “dust” poem coming on …. πŸ˜‰

            Liked by 1 person

          2. I can’t wait to read it!!

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Diana says:

            Would you prefer Angel dust or the desert variety?

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Oh! That is a tough choice… desert sounds exotic. πŸ˜‰

            Liked by 1 person

          5. Diana says:

            Good night! I shall soon be leaving my (non exotic) job … looking forward to evening leisure,a beach walk and …listening to an original French song I was so lucky to receive ….!

            Liked by 1 person

          6. ❀️ I hope you like it! Have a perfect evening! Chat soon again dear dear D!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

