Confidences

She had sent him a text that morning,
Then she had had a crappy day.

A virtual hug, a cuddle,
A listening ear. His words.
She knew anything from him
Would have made her feel better.

He saw her message,
He was upset, and busy,
And could not be bothered,
So he just ignored her.

He went on with his day,
And thought
He’d check back in later.

The thing was,
He still needed to ponder,
Whether or not he liked her.

Right there she wondered…
Had she picked the wrong guy?

Everything about him felt right,
When they were together.
Apart though, it seemed
In the most basic things,
He just wouldn’t be there.
That felt too wrong to accept.

Whether or not they’d sort things out,
Or patch them up,
They clearly needed to talk this out.


Featured image: Lac Léman, view captured from the pier of Thonon Les Bains’ little harbour on July 20th, 2017. (iPhone 5S, HDR settings).

16 Comments Add yours

  1. ivors20 says:

    I like conversational pieces, and this is a beautiful verse of discourse.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ivor. I enjoy those too, whether as a writer or a reader 🙂 it is always easy to feel immersed and identify to those pieces. Have a gorgeous day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Singledust says:

    I always wonder about read yet not replied messages. the waiting, the anxiety of a response. is it worth it? but we write them and sensd them out anyway. and wait to be heard or hurt. a gentleman would reply even while he was thinking whether he liked her not. just my humble opinion. love your writing here. the thoughts that complement each other from different perspectives. beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What an insightful comment 💕I feel the same about this Facebook feature. It really is torture. Letters way back when were the same though, except the delays in waiting and expecting lasted way longer. Still letters were sent just for the pleasure and thrill of getting an answer in case it would come. I agree that he doesn’t behave like a gentleman. Thank you for reading and appreciating my words 💕Much love my Gina!

      Like

      1. Singledust says:

        letters were anticipated with much joy. but the text message thing can cause much anxiety. be picky with who is allowed that privilege. took me sometime to understand the importance of that. love your insight too lovely Hailie!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. True that my Gina. You are very right. I keep that number very restrained. You are adorable ❤ So happy to have crossed paths with you here. We have to meet next time I travel to Asia.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Singledust says:

            oh please do, would love to meet you and show you my part of Malaysia! thank you for the lovely response!

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Amazing! I would love that so very much!

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Singledust says:

            it would be my pleasure and joy if we did!

            Liked by 1 person

          4. and mine, my sweet friend ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  3. feifei says:

    Ah so good!! Love how the spacings and paragraphs blend into dialogues. Relatable, too. That was what happened between me and my ex. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a lovely comment! Thank you for your appreciation, Feifei 🙂 and nice to meet you. I am glad my lines spoke to you.

      Like

    2. I am also sorry about you and your ex. It always hurts, but you need to be with someone who wants you just the way you are. You can’t be put in a box, or wrapped around with limits, just because that makes him happy.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. feifei says:

    You are very right. I’m very glad I found someone who truly gives me his all now. I wish you happiness too! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am very happy for you ❤ Thank you for your sweet wish 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

