Eyesight Readjustment

Sometimes, when all hope seems lost, and you are left there
Staring at this man-made, senseless, chaotic mess.
All you need to do is shift focus, walk further,
Step back. Look beyond the borders of your picture.

Choose a new standpoint, focus on the elements
Move things around as you please. Fly them up and down.
Right and left. Delete, rename, repurpose, replace.

The scattered pieces will all fall back into place,
Rearranged by your newfound sight. Lay back, and
Observe. Soon the world will start making sense again.


Featured image captured on August 4th, 2017, in Anthy-sur-Léman, France. (iPhone 5S, HDR settings)

Poem written in 12 syllable lines, created as part of the 36th Weekly Writing Workshop on Mug’s Tale, exploring the theme “Broken”. Hit this link to vote for this poem and take it one step closer to the Readers’ Award.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. ivors20 says:

    This is a very relevant poem, and so well depicted, and the sort of thing I try a do , whenever I’m down and feeling lost, thankyou for your encouraging words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ivor, for appreciating them 🙂 It is a renewed delight to see your comments pop up. Just from reading your words I know you have a beautiful soul. Thank you, again.

      Like

    1. Thanks, M! I am happy you think so 🙂

      Like

      1. It is always my pleasure and delight

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    Doesn’t nature have a tendency toward chaos? Sometimes it takes such effort to reverse this and regain control. Your words are inspirational; I love the re-assuring tone and the calm, rich hues of the water and sky. Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for seeing so much in my words. I believe nature has a tendency towards chaos. It is creative and ever evolving in ways that can hardly be foretold. I think there is a logic at least behind some of this apparent randomness though – a logic that we can’t always comprehend, as our understanding of its workings is limited.
      Since we are part of nature, I also believe we have this dichotomy weaved in our fabric. We need to allow chaos in to evolve and advance, and then reorganize and thrive around the new elements it is constantly bringing into our lives to make sense of it all. Somehow we always need to make sense of things, or at least I do. Chaos in its pure form would eat me up!

      Like

  3. I like your insights and the subtle flow with which you write!:)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for appreciating my insight ❤ I like to read what I write out loud to make sure it sounds the way I want it to. I am happy it shows ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

