Misplaced Grip

Sometimes it feels like you are with me
Out of misplaced duty, not out of want.
You don’t owe me anything. You want out?
Just go. I will be better off on my own
Than with unrequited love gripping
At my hand and clawing at my heart.


Featured image: Scarred Heart doodled on Gimp by me.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. ivors20 says:

    Yes, the complexities and differences, between duty, loyalty and the elusiveness of love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is love elusive though? I find attraction to be elusive, as you get through all the layers, you might experience mixed feelings. Once love is there though… real love, it shouldn’t go. I can’t let go of the people I love, my friends. They have their spot in my heart forever unless they do something that is too wrong to be forgiven – but I doubt that is likely to happen. When it comes to amorous relationships, does intimacy make it all too complicated for said love to last? That is a question I keep stumbling upon. Maybe you could bring me some insight. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ivors20 says:

        Hmmm, yep, I think I’ll stick with, that it’s all very complicated,. .. and I’m in a confused state these days.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha πŸ™‚ so being wiser doesn’t make it all simpler. Good to know πŸ™‚ Thank you for your insight. Complicated it is then!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    Might you add a “sigh” counter to your page, so that a reader can click when a passage causes said reaction. I even sighed after your reply to Ivor. Yes, once love is there, real love – it should be eternal. I will never ever surrender this belief.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would be a most useful feature! They have it on Soundcloud, not specifically with sighs, but you can react to any moment you want to in the recordings. It is a great feature to allow feedback, though it could get messy visually on a poem. You would have to create visual layers not to impair the pleasure of reading the naked lines. ^^

      About love, I share you view, if it turned out not to be true, the consequences within me would be cataclysmic. The whole world I created around me would lose its sense and crumble down like a waterless sandcastle. – *here is an idea for a poem* thanks for triggering that πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Diana says:

        I’m thinking we might be bringing out some honest inspiration with our gentle ramblings. I fell asleep last night with a busy mind 😊 A crumbling “waterless sandcastle” so fragile. Like a life with no hope of love.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I am thinking you are right! Chatting to you and reading your poetry is inspiring! How do I love the image of that waterless sandcastle ❀ Did I really come up with that? ^^ so inspired ❀

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Diana says:

            Yes you came up with that, precious one! I feel that our shared words have the potential of adding fuel directly to embers. Flames of inspiration ☺️

            Liked by 1 person

          2. I feel the same. Cosy, animating, warm flames… May they be ever burning!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

