A Mountain of Pebbles

Upon waking up he felt relieved.

He was addicted to her. Her voice…

Her skin, her eyes, her arms, her touch

 

Her stories… He liked everything about her,

When they were together. — Then it came ruining

Everything. That damned mess in her head… It kept

Eating at him, strangling him. —- He could not bear

 

Having to grasp for air after those loaded talks.

He realized she had suffocated him. Lost

Him. He could not bear feeling so torn. All the time.

 

Not knowing whether

Their relationship

Was to live or die.

Constantly being

Reminded of it.

 

Upon waking up he felt relieved.

He realized he deserved it all,

Being cherished, loved, and cared about.

 

He could not stand being hidden away,

Inserted in the present à la va-vite*,

While being constantly operated

Out of the future by that screwed up brain

Of hers. — Upon waking up he felt like

 

He existed again.

 


* à la va-vite means “too fast, without being given care or necessary thought”. (it is a French expression.)


Featured image: Mount of pebbles on the beach, Anthy-sur-Léman, captured on the 4th of August 2017. (iPhone 5S, HDR settings)

23 Comments Add yours

  1. ivors20 says:

    Nothing worse than feeling suffocated in a relationship, did he decide to leave, did he kill her, or was it a bad dream, ah the possibilities …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kill her? haha. I don’t think so. No, he just got back to the essentials. Feeling sound within himself. Sometimes it is a relief to be on your own again.

      Like

      1. ivors20 says:

        I think I’ve been to too many opera’s, one or both of the lover’s always are killed !!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I love operas but the endings are way too dramatic. Life can be cruel in its own way, but it is usually more subtle than immediate death.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. ivors20 says:

            True, I’m sure the realities of life are a far cry from the drama of the opera’s. My lovely niece is an opera singer, and that’s why I go often, she’s a coloratura soprano.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Wow! Lucky you! Can I find videos of her online?

            Like

          3. ivors20 says:

            Not yet, she’s just a year out of university, but already performing for 2 minor opera company’s in Melbourne, and is a Scholarship member of the Melbourne Bach Choir.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. That sounds wonderful! She is heading to a bright future. Please keep me posted on her. I love music and would love to listen to her.

            Like

          5. ivors20 says:

            I shall, Uncle Ivor is her most avid follower xx

            Liked by 1 person

          6. I can easily picture that. She is lucky to have you ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a relatable piece after having been in relationships myself I understand the feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading it 🙂 Life is a great source of inspiration. Those feelings are not easy to process. When you feel attraction yet the workings of the mind of the person are so thick with confusion, you just can’t deal with them. It is hard to let go, but there is no clearing out the fog in someone else’s mind. It has to come from them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. simpledimple says:

    This so resonates with me. To feel suffocated in a relationship is not a good feeling at all. I’ve been through that. I am glad I came out stronger. But the thought of the whole trauma and emotional stress still appear sometimes and it’s always a low moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear you ❤ I have been through it too. There can be such a mess some people's heads. You never know it until you experience it. I agree the stress it brings into your life is really too much to bear. A partner is not meant to add stress into your life in my book, but to lift it up reciprocally through shared care and affection. Then again, I am an idealist^^

      Like

  4. Diana says:

    I’m sorry, at this juncture I have to start my day – and not just linger on your blog, complimenting everything … because…. so darn good!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Go on and start your day! You are very sweet 🙂 I am very happy that our paths crossed 😉 My blog and I will still be there later on, I promise! Have a fantastic day Diana! Did I mention how nice it was to have made your acquaintance? Chat soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Diana says:

        Yes, no tearing down of your blog now that I’ve found you! I’m happy too – you have a compelling way with words and delightful personality. Raising my coffee cup in salute lady! Chat soon 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I could say the same about you! I am going to relish in reading your pieces too! I had a feeling today was going to be a happy happy day 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Diana says:

            Oh my god! You’re a sweetheart! 😊 Stop that/more please haha!

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Of course, I am 🙂 I will stop for now and give you more later nice words later 🙂 Go on with your day, I would not want to make you late.

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Diana says:

            Yes lather your gracious attentions elsewhere (or not, I’m so conflicted). Have a great day! 😘

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Haha 🙂 I will do my best! Thank you! A great day to you too! 😘

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

