Paths

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and Iβ€”
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”
– Robert Frost

Those lines just resonate at my core. They struck a chord the first time I read them, and still do now. It is so important to make your own choices and live the way you want. You don’t have to follow the herd. You can, if that is where your heart is at, but if it isn’t, dare go your own way. It will make the journey all the more interesting, unique and inspiring. Just like those lines by Robert Frost.


Robert Frost was an American poet. He was born in San Francisco, in 1874. He started writing poetry in high school, married his high school sweetheart after college, and started his family life in rural America, in a farm in New Hampshire. There he wrote many poems, and gave a go at raising poultry, but when the latter didn’t work out he went back to teaching.


In 1912, he moved to England with his wife and four children. There his career as a published poet took off. When the First World War started, he returned to the United States, back in a farm and in New Hampshire.


In the 1930s, he went through dramatic family loss. He kept writing. In the course of his life, his poetry was awarded four Pulitzer Prizes, inΒ 1924, 1931, 1937, and 1943. He drew his last breath in 1963 in Boston, Massachusetts.


Here is how he perceived writing:
“We write of things we see and we write in accents we hear. Thus we gather both our material and our technique with the imagination from life; and our technique becomes as much material as material itself.”


Here is a link to the whole poem, if I have piqued your interest and you are just left there wanting more. The Road Not Taken, by Robert Frost
Here is a link to his biography, if you want to know even more about him. Frost’s Life and Career.Β 


Featured image: Path in the Woods, captured on January 7th, 2017, in Lucinges, France. (HDR settings, iPhone 5S)

12 Comments Add yours

  1. ivors20 says:

    Thank you so much for this article about Robert Frost, I shall be reading more of his wonderful writings

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My pleasure, Ivor πŸ™‚ I like sharing what I read and spreading the love ❀ I am glad it found you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a really heartfelt piece, just be reading this I was struck with a sense of awe. I will definitely more of his work out, thank you for this post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your appreciation πŸ™‚ Sharing is always a pleasure. Have at it! He is great!

      Like

  3. simpledimple says:

    Glad I saw this post. I’ve used that quote severally but have never really known much about the writer. Now, you’ve shared his bio and I’m keen on reading more about this great man, Robert Frost. Thank you for a beautiful post. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Stella! Nice of you to pop by πŸ˜‰ His quotes are everywhere. There are a few more of him that I really like. This one just inspired me today and I thought I should share a few things about the man behind the words. His words are an inspiration. He deserves my reverence. Thank you for appreciating it ❀

      Like

  4. Irene says:

    Perfect photo for a lovely post. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you kindly, Irene πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the photo so much

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, M πŸ™‚ Glad you do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

