Spontaneous Combustion of Soulful Heart-Burst

Maybe that wasn’t love.
It was just a meeting
Of two souls,
Two lonely roads crossing
And sharing a moment.

An instant frozen in time.
As the city was asleep,
They were conversing,
Making the world,
Unearthing life,

Dissecting its secrets,
Taking their world apart,
Stone by stone, Speck by speck,
Just to make sense of it, temporarily,

Then rebuilding it
All over again,

Because they could not escape it.

As soon as they had set foot in reality again,
It carried on its spell and broke theirs,

Leaving them high and dry,
Lone as they were before.

Two hearts heavier still,
Having shared this experience

Out of time.
Knowing it existed,
Leaving them wanting,
Yet unable to conjure it up again.

Maybe some moments are just meant to be lived,

And not last,
Nor repeat.

Question is:
Ought they be cherished still,
Those rare gems?

Interwoven paths of loneliness.


Featured image: Linked Figures, side view of the metallic Sculpture in front of the Palais de la Reine, in the Marais, in Paris (captured on the 29 of December 2016, with an iPhone 5S, HDR settings)

14 Comments Add yours

  1. The layout is incredible, the words are brought to life because of how they’ve been structured

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ❤ Wow! Your words just warmed my heart! I feel very honoured to receive such an appreciation. Thank you WLA ❤ From the bottom of my heart!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a beautiful poem! I loved how you laid it out as well, it really added to your poem. Fantastic!

    X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your enthusiastic words 🙂 and for taking the time to read and appreciate my lines. It means a lot! I appreciate it very much. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ivors20 says:

    Yes, definitely cherish all your beautiful experiences, and I fondly remember all of my lovely encounters, memories of living, to keep, while I’m alive….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Ivor, I think cherishing them comes easy to me. I doesn’t come that easy to people around me though. There are lots of regrets out there, lots of resentment, especially when a new encounter doesn’t turn out the way you expected/ hoped it would.

      Like

  4. This is truly a masterpiece

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ❤ Thank you! You are too kind 🙂 I am glad you like it ❤

      Like

  5. vaeaea says:

    those words carry more meaning than they can define and make emotions tangible… you offer deep poetry here 🙂 Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! My way with words echoes my ways in life. I cherish those outbursts of emotions. They make me feel blissfully alive, whether it be real or fiction. I am glad it reached you. Have a beautiful day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

