Shimmer

Heat… Overwhelming
Wave of heat. Whoa! I can’t feel
My head. I falter.

Faint. Fall. Bang! Black out.
Soft wind is brushing my cheek.
Mmm… Conscious mind stirs.

Eyes rouse, open, click.
Where am I? What happened?
The sun is striking.

My skin reddened, burnt
From its touch. I look out.
Lake water shimmers,

Blurred sight. I blink,
Focus. Rise and sway. I stand
Shakily. My list –

I check head, hands, legs…
A blood tear glistens over
Ruptured skin, tender.

Grazed ego stands up,
Walks unbent, bears no witness,
Only light dirt trace.


Featured image: Captured on May 20th, 2017, in Anthy-sur-LΓ©man, France. Its quality is slightly blurred and that is precisely what triggered the story. I wrote it to answer WordPress’ daily prompt “Shimmer” on August 6th, 2017.

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. “Blurred sight. I blink,
    Focus. Rise and sway. I stand
    Shakily. My list –” my favorite part of this masterpiece

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you again, M. πŸ™‚ So happy you approve of that one too!

      Like

      1. πŸ‘β˜ΊπŸ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ivors20 says:

    You left me feeling hot, sunburnt, bloodied and dusty, well done, and it’s still so freezing over here….😎

    On Mon, Aug 7, 2017 at 9:42 AM, Soul Lines – Diary of a Soul Writer wrote:

    > diaryofasoulwriter posted: “Heat… Overwhelming Wave of heat. Whoa! I > can’t feel My head. I falter Faint. Fall. Bang! Black out. Soft wind is > brushing my cheek. Mmm… Conscious mind stirs. Eyes rouse, open, click. > Where am I? What happened? The sun is striking. My skin reddened, b” >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha ❀ Aw! Thank you! or hmm… maybe sorry? As it is not such a nice feeling ^^ How freezing is it now out there?

      Like

  3. Irene says:

    Love the constrasts of this photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So sensory and uncomfortable. The poem made me want to enter the cool water and wash it all away.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! That was the intended effect! So glad you felt it, though I am very sorry for the uncomfortable feel ^^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Just a little headache and sunburn πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha^^ The power of words ❀

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Diana says:

    I may be imagining things, but your verse just gave me a little headache. Thankfully there was no broken bones πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh this poem is dangerous! Someone should ask the writer to take it down, down, down! I am relieved to hear you are – mostly – safe and sound! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

