Eyes and Ears

Cracking, crackling sounds,
chomping clatter, cascading
down with shreds, fragments

Falling, thudding on
branches. Leaves rustle – clamour
answering the shocks,

rippling in waves, bough
to sprig. Shattered airborne seeds,
scrap by scrap, fall back

to Earth. Organic
shells crash, inanimate dust.
Sky matter hails, forms

vegetal graveyard,
exposes animate life
in rhythmic motifs.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Well-fed li’l dweller
on the walnut tree climbs up
and down, fervently

working on its meal,
while cautiously keeping an
eye on me – strange beast –

creature, lying there
typing and watching keenly,
processing stories.

© Hailie


Featured image: Squirrel cloaking on a Branch, captured on August 17th, 2017 in Oze, France (iPhone 5s, HDR settings)

The story of how a squirrel distracted me. “Ooh Shiny” Weekly Photo Challenge.

Below: Close-up on said squirrel.


 

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. ivors20 says:

    Your words have captured the beautiful big tree and the fossicking little squirrel all in one earthy and ecological piece, and you especially grab me with your first part ,”chomping clatter, cascading down with shreds,”. You made me feel like I was there beside you writing away !! And thanks for the Squirrel close-ups.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Ivor 💕 your comment brings a lovely echo to the essence of my poem. I am glad I could transport you 💕 It is always my pleasure to share these words and pictures with you 😊 thank you for appreciating them!

      Like

      1. ivors20 says:

        Haha, I’m your eyes and ears…x

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Indeed you are 😍

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    Said squirrel has elicited a fabulous piece here! I defy anyone not to be immersed in your words, and be right there, entertained by critter frolics. You have a way of transporting the reader’s minds eye with gentle and accurate precision. Write on, Ms Fantastique!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Merci D 😊 your kind comments always light up my mornings! I am glad you liked that one, the little squirrel was first spotted by my niece and made quite an impression on her. Then I retired to my quiet corner and another one popped above my head and started its breaking business. The piece just flowed naturally from there.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Diana says:

        My pleasure! In some strange twist of parallel lives, I too was seated in the forest with a friend this evening – looking way up to see a squirrel jumping from tree to tree at the highest canopy point. Just harmless leaves trailed down but there was a danger of larger projectiles so we didn’t linger. Lovely prose lady!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. The sounds those little creatures make can be quite impressive. I too pondered whether to stay in the shade and risk a hit or move to the sun. Too hot too hot.. haha shade and poem it was. It came close but shreds and half shell fell all around but not on me.. yay 😅

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Diana says:

            Squirrel helmets ordered for us. And a petite size for your niece 😊

            Liked by 1 person

          2. How thoughtful! Her sweet little head needs to be protected 💕

            Liked by 1 person

  3. The photos are so majestic as well as every single one of your words

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, M ☀️ your continuing appreciation makes me very happy 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am so glad that i can contribute to your happiness. Have a magnificent day

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You contribute in an amazing way 💕 much love to you my friend!

          Like

          1. Your comment made my day

            Liked by 1 person

          2. 💕 I am glad it did.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. I really love your writing style! Every post of yours that I read it so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment brought a giant smile on my face. ❤ Thank you kindly for your sweet words. Such feedback makes me want to write more and more ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Glad to hear it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

