A Song of Sand and Water

No matter what I do
My mind keeps going back to you

Make me dance in the blaze of that bonfire
Make me twirl, whirl under the light of stars

***

In the moonshine we flirt
I see that twinkle in your eye

We dive in the sand drawn to each other
Magnetically bound in exertion

Effortlessly you roll on top of me
I can feel the weight of your bones buried

In the cold, gently pressing against mine
The warmth of your flesh, the brush of your skin

The sweet scent of your hair
And we get lost in the moment

***

Your lips land on mine

Two bonded souls merged as one
I curl up in your embrace

You hold me tight as we listen…
to the crystalline symphony

hummed by the sea embedded
in their tumultuous embrace

In the sand billions of drums rolling
grains floating in the strength of her waves

Droplets crash and dive back
in their immensity

***

Limbs covered in mineral dust,
our souls whisper through our bodies

gently pressed together, wrapped in peace,
lips smiling in the clearing of dawn

I sing and I sing and I sing
sing along to the tune

that your soft presence instilled in my head
– an ode –
a strong embrace impressed upon my heart.


Featured image: Sun rising on the horizon, Presqu’île de Giens, captured on the 7th of August, 2015, with an iPhone 5C (HDR settings)

31 Comments Add yours

  1. What a beautiful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you ❤ I am glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, that’s beautiful 😍. The title is perfect, it really is a song, your words are all so lyrical. I love it 💖.
    You paint such wonderful pictures. Every line, every word brings more and more happiness through and you leave me grinning and off dreaming by the end. It’s all so perfect, your optimism and pure love of love is intoxicating. And you add those small touches of sensualtiy, the lips and the soft touches of skin, the bodies tumbling, just enough to get a heart racing and imaginations flying. Ahh, there’s too much too love. My mind won’t settle on anything. Why must you torment me so 😅? You’ve managed to torture me by throwing too much love and happiness around 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Here comes my favorite Irish friend 😍 how easily you read through me and through my lines. I liked that you find “my pure love of love intoxicating”. I do feel I am in love with the feeling of being in love and since that doesn’t happen I am determined to recreate its magic in poems and stories. I have felt it. I know how it feels, I just have to dig up cherished memories and reinvent them through new circumstances. I am amazed at how malleable our brains are. What they can summon and make you feel. As I wrote and as you read, we were both transported by the power of those wordly signs that we both attribute meaning too. It is mind blowing when you think of it, isn’t it?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. It is 😄. I just wish you would hurry up and conjure up a spell to actually transport me into your imagination. It must be a wonderful place 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Fabulous poem! “Limbs covered in mineral dust,
    our souls whisper through our bodies” Gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am ecstatic you enjoyed it. Those are my favorite lines too 😉💕 have a fabulous day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome! Have a fabulous day too!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Lost soul says:

    This is so much love 😍😍😍 and I sing to the tune of your words. Perfect imageries of love with all the feels.
    This is just beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Priya 💕🤗 always so happy to read your lovely thoughts on my pieces. Love has magic and words the power to transport it. I am so happy you loved it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lost soul says:

        ❤️❤️❤️❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  5. ivor20 says:

    I loved every line of your extraordinary poem, rolling, sensual, delicate and warm, and I was especially gently held by your lines,
    “Limbs covered in mineral dust,
    our souls whisper through our bodies”. Absolutely beautiful. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you my lovely Aussie friend ❤ I love those two lines too. So happy to see they touch you as much as they do me. I am delighted you enjoyed reading me ❤ Giant hugs from my shores to yours!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ivor20 says:

        I love giant hugs xx

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Wonderful! I love giving them ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  6. bola says:

    You have such a way with words! Seems like you are able to so accurately illustrate such intimate moments! What a gift you have. It’s not always easy and possible to paint such a picture that your readers can so easily see as if they are seeing the picture right before their eyes, or experiencing the feeling or moment themselves. Magical words 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you B ❤ I am so touched by your appreciation and your sweet words move me deeply. I am stocked that you loved reading my little poem. Knowing that I was able to transport you into my universe with my words makes me so happy. Thank you for stopping by, and reading. I am looking forward to spending as much time with you as we can ❤ Hugs! Billions of them!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Nessa Sheron says:

    Love the imagery ❤ !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Nessa 😊💕

      Like

  8. Cecilia says:

    What a lovely touching poem! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for appreciating it ❤️

      Like

    1. Thank you ❤️ I am stoked you love it!

      Like

  9. emotionsoflife2016 says:

    This is perfection.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, M. ❤ I am delighted you approve of my heartfelt creation.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. emotionsoflife2016 says:

        You know it is always my pleasure.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Mark Ryan says:

    I know your work is much more advanced than my metaphor, but i took the sand as analogy to how love can be. Like timidly stepping on the sands, only to dig down deep into the cool soft expanse of the tiny grains, that make up love. This one is nice, it covered me in those tiny particles. I took the water as the lapping tide of time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My words are an invitation for a moment imagined to be reinvented in as many ways as there are sets of eyes who land on their display. I welcome your ideas. Your view of the sand is a beautiful metaphor for love and I can see it in my lines. The sound of the ticking waves adds a musical base to the whole piece. Thank you for your words, Mark 🙂 They transported me back.

      Like

      1. Mark Ryan says:

        Thank you for the post, it’s very beautiful and transportive.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. My pleasure ❤️ you are welcome to stop by and be carried away anytime you wish.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment